PDA

View Full Version : Sybil

LibraryLady
24th February 2009, 05:03 PM
Shortly after I graduated from high school, I read a book by Flora Reta Schreiber called Sybil. Many of you are probably familiar with it. It tells the story of a young art student in New York in the 1950s and 60s who, with the help of a loving and sympathetic psychiatrist, discovers that she has 16 separate personalities. After years of therapy and nurturing from the doctor, she is able to fuse these disparate personalities into a new and whole person and go on to live a fulfilling life.

Along the way, Sybil is forced to recover the memories of horrific physical, psychological, and sexual abuse at the hands of her schizophrenic mother. Her aloof father manages not to notice the broken bones and other symptoms. Her narrow and strict religion discourages seeking psychological help. The small Wisconsin town in which she was raised is bound around with small town values that hide other dark secrets.

I was wowed by the book. I even read it again a few years later and began to notice some odd things about it. It seemed a little contrived with the second reading. But still, I was impressed with the story.

A movie was made with Sally Field and Joanne Woodward, an impressive cast, but they changed the story a lot, and it didn’t really capture me the way the book had. After that, I really didn’t think about it much.

As I grew older, as we all know, I developed a skeptical perspective and did a lot of reading about false memories and other abuses by some therapists, trained and not.

A couple of nights ago, when I watched a remake of the story with Tammy Blanchard and Jessica Lange, which stayed a little closer to the book, but added a feminist perspective with the doctor, Cornelia Wilbur, fighting with a male colleague who dismissed Sybil’s problems as hysteria and “women’s issues.”