View Full Version : The Nibiruan Council
Dragonrock
29th December 2003, 11:35 AM
This (http://www.nibiruancouncil.com/) place is called the Nibiruan Council. I was reading through it and it seems like it has to be a parody. It's all written so simply and calmly that it doesn't seem like the work of a true nutjob.
Maybe it's just wishful thinking on my part, but it can't be for real, right?
Charlie in Dayton
29th December 2003, 12:21 PM
Don't bet against it...
I was sorely tempted to attend and report from one of the sessions, as they're within a half-hour of the house, except for the fact that they're $175 a pop.
But hey...Nancy Lieder hasn't sucked all the stray cash up with the ZetaSquawk scam...nothing saying someone else can't set up a variation and come in for another pass among the 'faithful'...
PinkRabbit
29th December 2003, 12:30 PM
Well, my usual test is to see if they're selling stuff (the fake ones just don't write whole books and come up with series of tapes...at most they might do a t-shirt or a mug design), and judging by that, it's definitely for real.
Yipes! They've got a ton of ...er...stuff for sale. Books, tapes, lectures, supplements (as in the kind you take...like special laxatives and stuff :eek: ), Galactic counselors (I'm assuming sessions of some kind and not an actual counselors with which you could do anything you wanted, including a remake of the old Twilight Zone ep, "To Serve Man" ... kind of a pity, now that I think about it though), etc.
Ah-hah! Went on looking and the galactic counselor thing is not counseling services, but rather stuff for galactic counselors to buy to prove their credentials to prospective customers, and training sessions so they can sell their galactic counseling services.
Ah-huh. Well, that's interesting.
In short, unless I'm vastly mistaken, it's a moneymaking scam.
Barb
Goshawk
29th December 2003, 12:41 PM
Jelaila Starr? No, Jelaila's been around for years, she's for real.
And she's one of the sincere ones (you know what I mean :D --she really does believe in reptilian aliens and all of that. She may have stuff for sale on her website, but she's no Alex Chiu, "just in it for the money". Read some of the articles.
http://www.nibiruancouncil.com/html/articles.html
In comparison to Nancy Lieder, it actually sounds quite sane, "let's everybody be nice and try to get along with each other because we all have the same alien reptilian Nibiruan DNA", etc. People who are just using their website to shill for a video production company don't normally spend years writing passionate "can't we all just get along" articles to go along with it.
IOW, not a parody. Sorry.
I know you were hoping... :D
Dragonrock
29th December 2003, 12:57 PM
Thank you Goshawk for crushing my spirit by proving that, once again, there really are people who believe anything.
Soapy Sam
30th December 2003, 06:51 AM
Has something changed in the meaning of the world "real" lately?
smoke
30th December 2003, 11:59 AM
It's hard to tell who's scamming and who really believes, of course. But I tend to think that the more a woo has to sell and is about the money, the more likely it is they are just scamming.
Hell, if it's a full time business and they can make money, you better believe they'll put in the time to produce a mountain load of crap, even if they don't actually believe in it.
Those that tend to push woo w/o asking for or focusing on money are more likely to be real believers, imo.
But no way to know for sure....
© 2001-2009, James Randi Educational Foundation. All Rights Reserved.
vBulletin® v3.7.7, Copyright ©2000-2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.