PDA

View Full Version : I'm not sure if this belongs here, or humor...


Marian
30th April 2004, 01:51 AM
http://objective.jesussave.us/kidz.html

I ran across that site on another board, and found it hysterical, yet deeply disturbing. I'm not trying to Christian bash, since I'm certain that the views expressed on that site are not shared by many Christians...but wowzers!

I also thought the 'what should you do if you find an athetist' was REALLY creepy...almost like 'what should you do if you find a jew' Poland circa 1942.

/shudder

I ALMOST thought the site was a parody site (akin to Landover Baptist)...but it's not. I find it rather creepy that it's so over the top that it could fool someone into thinking it's parody, yet they're serious.

Funny? Creepy? Maybe a little of both. :p

Brian the Snail
30th April 2004, 01:59 AM
Yes this site has been discussed here before, and the conclusion was that was a parody, albeit a very clever and subtle one. It's certainly disturbing that it's almost indistinguishable from the real thing.

Tanja
30th April 2004, 02:01 AM
Marian - the link does not work, it diverts to a commercial site.

Brian the Snail
30th April 2004, 02:08 AM
Strange works for me...

Marian, I found this nice post by JamesM that discusses this site:

http://www.randi.org/vbulletin/showthread.php?s=&postid=1870133954#post1870133954

LuxFerum
30th April 2004, 03:50 AM
Originally posted by Tanja
Marian - the link does not work, it diverts to a commercial site.
same thing here

Graham
30th April 2004, 03:55 AM
Originally posted by LuxFerum

same thing here

Works for me . . .

RabbiSatan
30th April 2004, 04:38 AM
Doesn't work for me either - I am getting re-directed towards www.paysforsurveys.com for some strange reason - but I believe I've already visisted the site you're talking about in the past - is the Christian lamb called "Lambuel" and the atheist depicted as a grumpy goat in a bathrobe holding a mug of coffee?

If it is, it's a cleverly done parody - the name "Lambuel" should give it away.

Tanja
30th April 2004, 04:44 AM
Originally posted by RabbiSatan
Doesn't work for me either - I am getting re-directed towards www.paysforsurveys.com for some strange reason - but I believe I've already visisted the site you're talking about in the past - is the Christian lamb called "Lambuel" and the atheist depicted as a grumpy goat in a bathrobe holding a mug of coffee?

If it is, it's a cleverly done parody - the name "Lambuel" should give it away.

Yep, that is the site I am re-directed to. So how come the link is re-directed for some people and works for other people? Bizarre.

Marian
30th April 2004, 04:47 AM
Not sure why the link isn't working :( it worked for me. And sorry about the repost, I should have hunted a bit more before posting.

And yes, I think it's also scary that sometimes it's difficult to tell the difference between a parody and someone out on the fringes.

The goat does crack me up though. :)

Skeptical Greg
30th April 2004, 06:11 AM
Welcome to JREF Marian,


Don't worry about posting old stuff.. Or where you start your threads.. It is up to you, where you want to be heard...


It never hurts to shine a new light on something....

We had to kick that site around a lot before we became certain it was a parody...

It really serves as an example with regard to the prevailing controversy about the appropriateness of holding religion and people's beliefs up to ridicule, and the proper Forum in which to voice our opinion..

Sometimes a joke is just a joke, but it is up to the thread starter to decide if they want to tell a joke and sit down, or scrutinize the message in a humorous story for it's deeper meaning..

DarkMagician
30th April 2004, 10:32 AM
Yes, it's a parody.

I clicked a link titled "Have you accepted Christ yet?" and ended up here (http://objective.jesussave.us/babyj.html).

Quester_X
30th April 2004, 11:02 AM
Oh, so it is a parody? Good. For a moment, I felt my faith in humanity start to slip. The Kanga-Jew is cute, though.

Marian
30th April 2004, 11:22 AM
I haven't seen anything yet that's convinced me that it's parody. With Landover Baptist, beyond a few obvious things (though it still manages to 'fool' many people) they also have some hidden 'yes this is a parody' stuff.

I understand that all of you hashed this out before I found the forums (and oddly enough I've been reading the JREF site awhile and never checked for forums!! I've been missing out! :D) but can anyone clue me in on a few specifics on what gives it away as a parody?

It seems over the top enough to be a parody to me...but I've seen some religious stuff that is also beyond over the top (Jack Chick anyone?) which is ludicrious enough, but written sincerely.

So I was just hoping that someone could point out what I'm missing that shows it? (Or was it just a general consensus after reading through it all that it was subtle parody?) If the latter, the reasons I'm on the fence is it goes into an awful lot of depth on some of their links, and all their 'advertizers' are to various religious sites.

Thanks in advance. (And does anyone else find the sheep head that spins funny? You can make it say "I'm getting dizzy!" if you click it enough) :D

Marian
30th April 2004, 11:40 AM
Never mind! Did some additional research (didn't take too long) and I'm convinced it's a well crafted parody.

Basically I used some tools to look into the registration of the site, which is heavily hidden, which is either REALLY intentional, or just the oddest luck (registered through a defunct company, with information to a patent source parent company, no first or 2nd contact information.)

So then I peeked at the bios. Beyond the fact that some were (at least to me) obvious parodies (Thanks Skeet for bringing this whole 'internet' thing to our attention lol) I attempted to research several of the people there.

Zip, zilch, nada. Only things I found were related to the site, or related to other sites saying they couldn't find any information on those people either.

So I have to agree...parody. And extremely well done too. Fooled me. :)

shecky
30th April 2004, 11:43 AM
Originally posted by DarkMagician
Yes, it's a parody.

I clicked a link titled "Have you accepted Christ yet?" and ended up here (http://objective.jesussave.us/babyj.html).

While the linked site with the baby "Jesus" is silly, I'm not conviced that it's a parody. It does link for more info to here (http://www.become-a-christian.com/), which looks serious to me.

VicDaring
30th April 2004, 11:56 AM
Originally posted by DarkMagician
Yes, it's a parody.

I clicked a link titled "Have you accepted Christ yet?" and ended up here (http://objective.jesussave.us/babyj.html).

Hmmm...When I clicked on "Have you accpeted Christ" I got a real life "How to be a fundie" site. Click on "Turn to Objective" and you get something called "Objective: Christian Ministries."


Which Includes this: Speaking of Landover Baptist (http://objective.jesussave.us/shutdown.html)

Skeptical Greg
30th April 2004, 11:57 AM
Originally posted by shecky


While the linked site with the baby "Jesus" is silly, I'm not conviced that it's a parody. It does link for more info to here (http://www.become-a-christian.com/), which looks serious to me.

One of the give-aways..


ZOUNDS Christian Rock Ministries ( link on left side of ste ) (http://objective.jesussave.us/zounds.html)

Conclusive evidence... A band that has no Music/CD's to sell, in spite of listing some albums and songs...


You might have to be a musician to appreciate the profundiity of this..


( The store with Zounds Gear, is genuine though .. " Zounds abstinence shorts, now available!".. )

zakur
30th April 2004, 12:02 PM
"Any sufficiently advanced parody is indistinguishable from a genuine kook." — Alan Morgan (on talk.origins)