Yahweh
27th August 2005, 09:47 AM
I got this in my mailbox today:
From : Westernunion Billing Department team <update@westernunion.com>
Sent : Saturday, August 27, 2005 10:29 AM
To : fstdt@hotmail.com
Subject : WesternUnion® Account Info
Dear westernunion customer,
During our regularly scheduled account maintenance and verification procedures, we have detected a slight error in your account information.
This might be due to either of the following reasons:
1. A recent change in your personal information ( i.e. change of address).
2. Submitting invalid information during the initial sign up process.
Please update and verify your information by clicking the link below:
https://wumt.westernunion.com/asp/regLogin.asp
If your account information is not updated within 48 hours then your ability to Receive or transfer Money On westernunion will become restricted.
Thank You For Chooseing Westernunion as Trusted Money Transfer
The Westernunion Billing Department
If you get this email, DONT RESPOND TO IT. Its a scam.
The link provided in the email is a spoofed URL of "http://westernunion.com.fifefootball.co.uk/securelogin/cgi-update/regPersonalInfo.htm". Notice "fifefootball", and the "co.uk" extension.
I have no accounts with WesternUnion, nor does anyone in my family.
I would like to refer the scam site to the relevant authorities. If this information is relevant, here is what I gathered from a simple WHOIS search:
Fifefootball.co.uk gave me the WHOIS following information:
[whois.melbourneit.com]
Melbourneit.com gave me the WHOIS following information:
Domain Name.......... melbourneit.com
Creation Date........ 1999-04-05
Registration Date.... 2000-05-23
Expiry Date.......... 2013-04-05
Organisation Name.... Melbourne IT Ltd
Organisation Address. Level 2, 120 King Street
Organisation Address.
Organisation Address. Melbourne
Organisation Address. 3000
Organisation Address. Vic
Organisation Address. AUSTRALIA
Admin Name........... Account Manager
Admin Address........ Level 2, 120 King Street
Admin Address........
Admin Address........ Melbourne
Admin Address........ 3000
Admin Address........ Vic
Admin Address........ AUSTRALIA
Admin Email.......... cdm@melbourneit.com
Admin Phone.......... +61.386242465
Admin Fax............
Tech Name............ Account Manager
Tech Address......... Level 2, 120 King Street
Tech Address.........
Tech Address......... Melbourne
Tech Address......... 3000
Tech Address......... Vic
Tech Address......... AUSTRALIA
Tech Email........... cdm@melbourneit.com
Tech Phone........... +61.386242465
Tech Fax.............
Name Server.......... ns1.melbourneit.com
Name Server.......... ns2.melbourneit.com
From : Westernunion Billing Department team <update@westernunion.com>
Sent : Saturday, August 27, 2005 10:29 AM
To : fstdt@hotmail.com
Subject : WesternUnion® Account Info
Dear westernunion customer,
During our regularly scheduled account maintenance and verification procedures, we have detected a slight error in your account information.
This might be due to either of the following reasons:
1. A recent change in your personal information ( i.e. change of address).
2. Submitting invalid information during the initial sign up process.
Please update and verify your information by clicking the link below:
https://wumt.westernunion.com/asp/regLogin.asp
If your account information is not updated within 48 hours then your ability to Receive or transfer Money On westernunion will become restricted.
Thank You For Chooseing Westernunion as Trusted Money Transfer
The Westernunion Billing Department
If you get this email, DONT RESPOND TO IT. Its a scam.
The link provided in the email is a spoofed URL of "http://westernunion.com.fifefootball.co.uk/securelogin/cgi-update/regPersonalInfo.htm". Notice "fifefootball", and the "co.uk" extension.
I have no accounts with WesternUnion, nor does anyone in my family.
I would like to refer the scam site to the relevant authorities. If this information is relevant, here is what I gathered from a simple WHOIS search:
Fifefootball.co.uk gave me the WHOIS following information:
[whois.melbourneit.com]
Melbourneit.com gave me the WHOIS following information:
Domain Name.......... melbourneit.com
Creation Date........ 1999-04-05
Registration Date.... 2000-05-23
Expiry Date.......... 2013-04-05
Organisation Name.... Melbourne IT Ltd
Organisation Address. Level 2, 120 King Street
Organisation Address.
Organisation Address. Melbourne
Organisation Address. 3000
Organisation Address. Vic
Organisation Address. AUSTRALIA
Admin Name........... Account Manager
Admin Address........ Level 2, 120 King Street
Admin Address........
Admin Address........ Melbourne
Admin Address........ 3000
Admin Address........ Vic
Admin Address........ AUSTRALIA
Admin Email.......... cdm@melbourneit.com
Admin Phone.......... +61.386242465
Admin Fax............
Tech Name............ Account Manager
Tech Address......... Level 2, 120 King Street
Tech Address.........
Tech Address......... Melbourne
Tech Address......... 3000
Tech Address......... Vic
Tech Address......... AUSTRALIA
Tech Email........... cdm@melbourneit.com
Tech Phone........... +61.386242465
Tech Fax.............
Name Server.......... ns1.melbourneit.com
Name Server.......... ns2.melbourneit.com