PDA

View Full Version : Death By Pooping

Dancing David
7th May 2006, 06:22 AM
In my wife's family, her younger brother is married to a woman who is a nurse, registered type, who works at a cardiac center.

recently my wife's family said that this nurse stated that there must be a nerve that connects pooping to the heart and that it leads to death in the elderly, which is why so many dead people are found on the stool.

Out of politeness I did not laugh out loud, but this sounds like the making of urban legend to me!

Moochie
7th May 2006, 06:30 AM
Nah, I've died a thousand deaths while sitting on the throne. That's a legend in itself. :)

M.

andyandy
7th May 2006, 06:31 AM
i always assumed that in the elderly, the strain of the whole business could be enough to trigger a heart attack...
i would have thought physical exertion rather than a nerve were to blame....tho i admit i have little knowledge of elderly bowel movements.....:) :) :)

ChristineR
7th May 2006, 06:46 AM
I hate to say this, but....

It's true. :)

http://health.enotes.com/nursing-encyclopedia/rectal-medication-administration

This isn't the greatest source...maybe someone else can find better.

andyandy
7th May 2006, 06:55 AM
urghhhhhh!

i wish i hadnt read that :jaw-dropp

Capsid
7th May 2006, 07:07 AM
I thought this was common knowledge. Elvis Presley died of a heart attack whilst on the throne. I thought it was the strain and increased blood pressure required that would be enough of a trigger.

Mercutio
7th May 2006, 07:14 AM
My dad has a pacemaker precisely because he has an overly sensitive vagus nerve. His heart had stopped a few times prior to that, before he was diagnosed. Sounds like the same sort of thing.

De_Bunk
7th May 2006, 07:28 AM
If some of you remember i worked for the Coroners office..

At least 4/10 of 'sudden deaths' in the home, i found on the toilet with evidence at an attempt to defecate. Approx 3 of those 4, were elderly people.