View Full Version : Weird StopKaz Email
RSLancastr
6th June 2006, 02:11 AM
I received an odd email on my StopKaz account last night.
The first odd thing is that it was "spoofed" so that it appeared to have come from my StopKaz account to itself.
The subject line was a six-digit number.
The body of the email was just a four-digit number.
Any thoughts as to what the purpose of this was?
Was it just a test to see if it bounced?
andycal
6th June 2006, 03:18 AM
Just heard from someone else on another forum is having a similar problem. Current thoughts are that it's a virus on the mail server. I'll keep you posted.
RSLancastr
6th June 2006, 03:45 AM
Thanks, andycal.
alfaniner
6th June 2006, 06:53 AM
I got the same type of thing yesterday, but not at the email I use for this membership. Weird.
Steve
6th June 2006, 08:45 AM
I had the same thing when I opened my email at work this morning. Subject was a 6 digit number, the body of the email was empty. It appeared that I had sent this to myself!?
Terry
6th June 2006, 09:13 AM
yup, it looks like it comes from you unless you read the full headers. I got one at work. I just deleted it.
Oleron
7th June 2006, 01:08 AM
Anyone know any more detail on this one? Many of my users have received something similar. My filters are letting it past and it doesn't appear to be malicious.
andycal
7th June 2006, 01:17 AM
Only thing to report is that I know of more people getting them and no real indication where from.
The headers seem to originate from a domain that doesn't exist. Keeping my ear to the ground...
Banbury
7th June 2006, 02:33 AM
Maybe the purpose is just to waste someones bandwith. It's possible to abuse a mail server to send spam. This damages the owner of the mail server even though the mails themselves are not malicious.
Lothian
7th June 2006, 03:25 AM
I got the same from my bigfoot forwarding account.
BPSCG
7th June 2006, 06:26 AM
Test, probing for weaknesses?
Oleron
9th June 2006, 01:30 AM
Test, probing for weaknesses?
In which case I have been probed and found wanting...:eye-poppi
JamesM
9th June 2006, 03:25 AM
Incompetent programming?
Angus McPresley
10th June 2006, 02:47 AM
I got the same exact thing, on a gmail account.
BenK
10th June 2006, 09:58 AM
I haven't gotten on myself but F-Secure has a little blurb on it
http://www.f-secure.com/weblog/archives/archive-062006.html#00000894
The_Fire
10th June 2006, 10:08 AM
REminds me of when one of my redirects send me an email from myself with a commercial for.......
Viagra
Apparently they thought that a fan club with an average age of 16 were in need of ....erhm....help......
ETA: YAY! I found out how to work the spoiler tags! :)
kevin
10th June 2006, 12:20 PM
It's easy to forge who a message is from, but check the full message headers for the path the message followed. It probably didn't originate from your own mail server.
Many spammers will forge a message being from the destination address because many spam filters automatically let messages from yourself through (although to be honest I haven't seen this configuration in years).
© 2001-2009, James Randi Educational Foundation. All Rights Reserved.
vBulletin® v3.7.7, Copyright ©2000-2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.