PDA

View Full Version : I was just told to "pull it"

defaultdotxbe
27th October 2006, 08:34 AM
background: i am a network operations center technician at an application service provider

scenario: an application server was running at 100% CPU utilization for several minutes, my coworkers and i agreed that we should "pull it" and i removed the server from the load balancing cluster

but now im wondering, was i supposed to do that, or should i have blown the server up for the insurance?

anyone else have experience "pulling" things?

uk_dave
27th October 2006, 08:35 AM
yes...and it ruined my eyesight.

twinstead
27th October 2006, 08:36 AM
My dentist told me I had a bad cavity in one of my teeth, and he was going to have to pull it. At the time I thought, "cool, maybe that will help the pain", but now with all this talk about explosives, I'm beginning to get worried.

Skibum
27th October 2006, 08:47 AM
Perhaps "pulling it" rather than pulling out would lead to fewer illegitimate children and certainly fewer alimony payments. It does make one hell of a mess though.

WildCat
27th October 2006, 08:52 AM
I sometimes have to pull a building permit, perhaps I'm really supposed to blow them up? It would save a lot of time at City Hall...

Skibum
27th October 2006, 08:54 AM
I sometimes have to pull a building permit, perhaps I'm really supposed to blow them up? It would save a lot of time at City Hall...

That would save me a lot of time as well. Pull it, the answer to plan review.

Perhaps Larry did it after all, he was just trying to keep from having to obtain a demo permit.

snagswolf
27th October 2006, 09:02 AM
Pullet:

http://rhetorica.net/weblogpix/chicken.jpg

njslim
27th October 2006, 09:47 AM
AHHem !! My mother told me not to do stuff like that.......

realitybites
27th October 2006, 10:21 AM
but now im wondering, was i supposed to do that, or should i have blown the server up for the insurance?
You think that's bad? I just had to reheat my lunch.