PDA

View Full Version : Anyone know if this is a scam?


Eos of the Eons
15th August 2003, 06:58 PM
I got this in my email

b

"Nobody with blue eyes has ever made money investing in China," the old saying goes.

Try and explain that to the lucky souls that invested in the four Chinese Internet stocks that trade on the Nasdaq this year. A $10,000 investment in two of them at their 52-week lows would now be worth $500,000 today. On average, these four stocks are up over 1,500% from their lows, and are worth an average of over a billion dollars each. (See for yourself - the symbols for these four are NTES, SINA, SOHU and CHINA).

Last night here at the Agora Wealth Conference in San Francisco, investment analyst Porter Stansberry gave a compelling presentation on why the time is right to invest in China (although he's not recommending these particular Internet companies). In today's Investment U E-Letter, you'll learn the easiest ways for Americans to invest in China, and which way looks like the safest bet right now.


blah blah blah blah...until we finally come to:

The Investment Opportunities Today

Today, according to Porter, we have a handful of outstanding Chinese blue chips that are finally easy to buy for Americans. They're solid companies trading at cheap valuations. It is a short list. The complete list of easy-to-buy China opportunities is as follows:

- The big blue chips on the NYSE (from $5 to $50 billion)
- The Chinese dot.coms on the Nasdaq
- The smaller-cap China stocks (less than $5 billion in size) on the NYSE
- The closed-end funds (type "China" into www.etfconnect.com to see them)
- A few other smaller opportunities (like OTC stocks)

Out of these, the big blue chips appear to be the cheap, safe and sound opportunity. In short, the smaller caps are still "garbage," the Chinese dot.coms are a bubble ready to burst, and the smaller opportunities are risky and have high trading costs (high spreads). A fund or two might be okay - the Templeton China Fund (TCH) is a familiar name and probably a safe bet.

Porter laid out his case for China last night. It is truly compelling. If you're not familiar with the current case for investing in China, Porter is the guy to hear it from. There is a free way to read his case for China - it's in his sales letter for his China Strategy Report, where Porter says: "There's a simple, and probably inevitable, way to make several times your money - at the expense of the Chinese government."

It is a few pages long, but I urge you to read it. After you read it, you'll truly understand what's going on right now, and you can decide for yourself whether an investment in China is right for you. You can take Porter up on his offer, or you can try to do it on your own through a fund or a blue chip stock.



This is just a little tiny bit of the email.

Mr Manifesto
15th August 2003, 07:11 PM
"If it's too good to be true, it usually isn't".

Remember, people who have stumbled upon an easy way to get rich aren't going to advertise it via email.

Eos of the Eons
15th August 2003, 07:14 PM
I was thinking the same thing. I'll go check out snopes and other sites like them.

Ziggurat
15th August 2003, 07:17 PM
Yes, it's a scam. Exactly what kind of scam it is, though, is certainly not obvious. The thing is, most wall street investment stuff is a scam, even most of the legal stuff. I say this in the sense that these people have no real reason (unless they're fooling themselves) to think that they can really beat the market. But they'll make money off of you with load charges, expense rations, and other fees regardless of how well the stocks they pick actually do. They're hyping china because it's risky. Risky investments have the possibility of huge payoffs, but they don't call them risky for nothing. Might as well go to the race track if you want to gamble your money, at least there they won't gouge you with management fees.

This is really just investment pornography. Stay away from it if you value your money. Stick with low-cost, no-load, low-turnover, well-diversified mutual funds and you'll do better than almost everyone who chases these sort of "hot pick" stocks and funds. Wall street is constantly trying to get people to move their money around, because then wall street makes more money, but it doesn't actually help the people moving their money around all the time.

Eos of the Eons
15th August 2003, 07:25 PM
Found something on quatloos

MY email:

265 - Investing in China - Now's the Time
The Investment U E-Letter
Friday, August 15, 2003

* * * * * * *

Investing in China - Now's the Time
By Dr. Steve Sjuggerud
President, Investment U






From quatloos

ADVERTISEMENT *

The only 2 STOCKS worth owning on the NYSE

While the economy slumps, 2 companies in the same industry...
** Have paid investors 228%+ returns since March of 2000
** Have $4.4 BILLION worth of sales already booked this year
** Are buying back 3.5 million shares of their own stock on the
open market
** Are where "the best-performing mutual fund manager ever" is putting
up to 1/3rd of his own money
** Could soon return 5-times your original investment

Detailed report by Steve Sjuggerud PhD, at:

LINK: http://www.agora-inc.com/reports/TRW/WTRWD650/


.17.03. Too Good To Be True. A-Letter.
... LINK:
http://www.quatloos.com/stkscams/hyips.htm
... his own money ** Could soon return
5-times your original investment Detailed report by Steve Sjuggerud PhD, at ...
sovereignsociety.com/vmembers.php?nid=612 - 33k - Cached - Similar pages





Who is Steve Sjuggerud?
STUPID ARGUMENTS

About twice a month, we get actually get calls from the scam artists themselves, posing from everything from an interested investor to an attorney acting on behalf of one of the roll programs. These idiots offer all sorts of B.S., arguing that their program is somehow "different" or that they have "guaranteed returns" or other such nonsense. Notably, they almost all hang up when we suggest that if their program is so good, that they should take it to the U.S. Securities & Exchange Commission and register it!

Again, we have seen literally hundreds of these programs over the last several years but we have YET to see even a single legitimate one. Not one!

THEY DO NOT EXIST

Every couple of weeks, some sucker who is about to be scammed calls us and says essentially "I've read your website but isn't it possible that some of these might be for real?"

No! Hell No!

None of these are for real, period. This scam has been going on for years, and to date NO program has been legitimate. If you can't find the proposed program investment in either the Wall Street Journal or the London Financial Times, and if it has not been registered with your State Securities Commissioner, then it is a scam. Any and all reasons why it is not so listed are the purest of lies.

During the course of the last several years, we have seen hundreds of these programs, but we have yet to see a real one! If there is a real one out there, we'd like to know because it would be the first. We're not holding our breath, however.



I got this email from some 'investment newsletter" from these guys
http://www.investmentuonline.com/SU/ETR/signuphub.cfm?List=InvestUS&sourceid=ETRXP[/QUOTE]




"Genius analyst"...
"Passionate researcher"...
"Provocative thinker"...

Twice weekly, Dr. Steve Sjuggerud reveals hidden indicators...