| JREF Homepage | Swift Blog | Events Calendar | $1 Million Paranormal Challenge | The Amaz!ng Meeting | Useful Links | Support Us |
![]() |
|
|
|
|||||||
| Notices |
| Welcome to the JREF Forum, where we discuss skepticism, critical thinking, the paranormal and science in a friendly but lively way. You are currently viewing the forum as a guest, which means you are missing out on discussing matters that are of interest to you. Please consider registering so you can gain full use of the forum features and interact with other Members. Registration is simple, fast and free! Click here to register today. |
|
|
#1 |
|
Intellectual Gladiator
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: In the midst of a vast, beautiful & uncaring universe
Posts: 14,204
|
Weird Google email on legacy blogger account?
Howdy all,
I recently received the following strange email from "Google", and I don't quite know what to make of it. I'm thinking spam, but before I write it off completely I wanted to run it by you all here. Any advice? Thanks in advance! Cheers - MM
Quote:
|
|
|
|
|
#2 |
|
Critical Thinker
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 490
|
It's legit, but apparently a big problem that hasn't been resolved.
Here's a Google discussion of a lot of people confused/angered/dismayed by the same email and the failure to be able to retrieve access to legacy blogs (or being notified about blogs they didn't create): http://groups.google.com/a/googlepro...E8Q/discussion There's an updated discussion here, but it doesn't seem to be too helpful: http://groups.google.com/a/googlepro...S1Q/discussion The funny thing is I have a legacy blog or two that I had written off before I got the email. Now that this whole thing has apparently become a debacle I want my old data back. I'll just wait and see how this turns out. A |
|
__________________
The root of all superstition is that men observe when a thing hits, but not when it misses. -Francis Bacon, essayist, philosopher, and statesman (1561-1626) Belief in the supernatural reflects a failure of the imagination. -Edward Abbey, naturalist and author (1927-1989) |
|
|
|
|
|
#3 |
|
Resident Skeptical Hobbit
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Waging war on woo-woo in Winnipeg
Posts: 3,657
|
As aofl noted, in this case the email is probably legit.
Digging a bit deeper, do you know how to view the headers? They're pieces of information that come along with the email but are usually hidden by your email reader (in computer terms, the "client" program), be it a program like Outlook or Thunderbird or a web based system like Gmail, Hotmail, or Yahoo. Look in the help for your e-mail client for how to view the headers. Here's a typical set of headers from a spam message I got, this one purporting to be from Facebook warning me they've deactivated my account. (I don't have a Facebook account!) Return-Path: <notification@facebookmail.com> X-Original-To: me@my-email-address.com Delivered-To: me@my-email-address.com Received: from ns1.rookdns.com (unknown [188.50.14.47]) by my-email-address.com (Postfix) with ESMTP id E216634033E for <me@my-email-address.com>; Thu, 3 May 2012 11:16:56 -0700 (PDT) Received: from (192.168.1.12) by facebookmail.com (188.50.14.47) with Microsoft SMTP Server id 8.0.685.24; Thu, 3 May 2012 23:46:56 +0530 Message-ID: <4FA2C6A8.205020@www.facebook.com> Date: Thu, 3 May 2012 23:46:56 +0530 From: "Facebook" <update+weh26mlf5l3_@facebookmail.com> User-Agent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.8.1.24) Gecko/20100328 Thunderbird/2.0.0.24 MIME-Version: 1.0 To: <me@my-email-address.com> Subject: You have deactivated your Facebook account Content-Type: multipart/alternative; boundary="------------06070400304050405050607" Note the From: and Received: headers, especially the last Received header in the list. (The Received headers are in reverse order, so the last one in the list was put there by the first computer to get the message. Each computer between the original sender and you add its own Received header.) For a lot of this type of mail, the server name (the part after the @) bears no resemblance to the company purporting to send the message. If that's the case, chances are very good the message is not legitimate. The above example is actually a cut above the norm, since the server's name is "facebookmail.com", which might be legitimate (but I highly doubt it.) |
|
__________________
The social illusion reigns to-day upon all the heaped-up ruins of the past, and to it belongs the future. The masses have never thirsted after truth. They turn aside from evidence that is not to their taste, preferring to deify error, if error seduce them. Gustav Le Bon, The Crowd, 1895 (from the French) Canadian or living in Canada? PM me if you want an entry on the list of Canadians on the forum. |
|
|
|
|
|
#4 |
|
Illuminator
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,350
|
First question: Do you have a legacy blogger account? If not, I would strongly suspect that this is a phishing email. Others have suggested checking the email headers and this is good advice.
I would also check the links in the email to make sure that they really link to a google address (the visible text of the link is not necessarily what the link actually goes to). You can do this by using you mail client's or browser's (if it's web based mail) "view source" function, or by hovering over the link and checking that the URL in the status bar is the same as that in the link text. If the link takes you some place different that what it represents in the visible text, this is a red flag that the email is a phishing attempt. |
|
|
|
|
#5 |
|
Intellectual Gladiator
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: In the midst of a vast, beautiful & uncaring universe
Posts: 14,204
|
I don't really even know what a legacy blogger account is, but from what I can tell from reading online they are blogs which are older than 2006. Seeing as how I started my current blog in 2009, this wouldn't seem to apply to me. In addition, this seems to be an issue with the old Blogger software, and I use Wordpress, so I'm not too worried about this.
Thanks for all the feedback!
|
|
|
|
|
#6 |
|
Scholar
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 98
|
I got a similar mail from Google because I had at one time registered a Google groups account (combination of e-mail address and password).
I never had a blog, just used it to post to newsgroups via Google. |
|
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
| Thread Tools | |
|
|